Posted by Kimberly Powell on 03/09/2015

with cellist Julie Albers!

Tracing its roots to the city’s first professional orchestra in 1924, the Oklahoma City Philharmonic formed in 1988 under the musical direction of Joel Levine with the help of dedicated civic leaders and corporations and marks it's 26th year this season.  With performances from September through May, the Philharmonic presents a series of eight Classics concerts and six pairs of Pops concerts each season and offers regional performances and many educational outreach concerts, including the Discovery Series and Youth Concerts to area school children and families.

The OKC Philharmonic offered their fifth Classics concert this season with guest cellist Julie Albers on Saturday February 7th at the Civic Center Music Hall in downtown Oklahoma City.  Recognized for her artistry, her charismatic and radiant performing style, and her musicianship, Julie Albers made her major orchestral debut with the Cleveland Orchestra in 1998, and thereafter has performed in recital and with orchestras throughout North America, Europe, Taiwan, Australia, New Zealand, and South Korea and will become the new principal cellist of the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra in the Fall of 2015.  Ms. Albers joined the Philharmonic to play the Cello Concerto in e minor, Op 85 of Edward Elgar in a program entitled "Mystery and Magic" which also included the Pavane for a Dead Princess by Maurice Ravel and the Overture and four selections from A Midsummer Night's Dream by Felix Mendelssohn.    


Encore!  Program Six


with the Miró Quartet 

from OK Mozart! 


Continuing its mission to offer a high quality music and cultural Festival for Oklahoma audiences, OK Mozart celebrated its 30th anniversary season this past June.   Among its offerings, OK Mozart presented a chamber music series featuring internationally acclaimed pianist Jon Kimura Parker, one of America's highest-profile ensembles, the dynamic Miró Quartet and woodwind players from the Amici New York orchestra. 

In the first hour of the sixth edition of the OK Mozart radio broadcast series, Performance Oklahoma presents the final Afternoon Chamber Music Series concert of Festival 2014 offered on June 13th and featuring the Miró Quartet in the String Quartet in d minor, Op 76, No. 2, by Franz Joseph Haydn and the String Quartet in E-flat Major, Op 127 by Ludwig van Beethoven.  In the second hour the Miró Quartet play the String Quartet in d minor, D 810 "Death and the Maiden" by Franz Schubert from the Spencer Prentiss/Becky Wallace Chamber Music Concert offered on Tuesday, June 11th at Festival 2013; both concerts given at St. Luke's Episcopal Church in Bartlesville, Oklahoma.   Performance recordings were made by Tom Lazarus:  http://www.classicsound.com/  

© 2018 KUCO Classical, All Rights Reserved | Website designed by Back40 Design & managed by Javelin CMS

A community-supported outreach of the University of Central Oklahoma

100 North University Drive, Edmond, OK 73034 | (405) 974-3333 | Link to UCO | F: (405) 974-3844 | E: [email protected]
Legal & Policies

Become a Sponsor