Posted by Kimberly Powell on 12/21/2015

This week

on Performance Oklahoma! 


 Joshua Roman



with the OKC Philharmonic

Classics 3


Tracing its roots to the city’s first professional orchestra in 1924, the Oklahoma City Philharmonic formed in 1988 with the help of dedicated civic leaders and corporations and celebrates 27 years of performances in Oklahoma City.  Under the musical direction of Joel Levine, the orchestra performs Classics, orchestral Pops, and Discovery Family concerts, as well as a variety of community engagements. 

Internationally recognized for his virtuosity, artistry and versatility, cellist and Oklahoma native Joshua Roman joined the Oklahoma City Philharmonic to play the Oklahoma premier of the Cello Concerto written for him by the second most performed living composer in the US, Mason Bates.  Also featured on the concert program entitled “Paradise, Sizzle and Storm” and presented on Saturday, November 21st is Walk to the Paradise Garden by Frederick Delius and the Symphony No. 6 in F Major, Op 68 “Pastoral” of Ludwig van Beethoven.  Joshua Roman offers captivating commentary about his friendship with Mason Bates and the new concerto, the evolution of cello playing and repertory in the 20th and 21st centuries and how his years as the principal cellist of the Seattle Symphony informs his current career as a soloist.


© 2018 KUCO Classical, All Rights Reserved | Website designed by Back40 Design & managed by Javelin CMS

A community-supported outreach of the University of Central Oklahoma

100 North University Drive, Edmond, OK 73034 | (405) 974-3333 | Link to UCO | F: (405) 974-3844 | E: [email protected]
Legal & Policies

Become a Sponsor